Anxiety dreams!

Well, I woke up this morning feeling in a panic… I had a dream that I was doing really good during my 5k that I am running this Thursday. (My goal is to finish in under 40 minutes). So, in the dream I was about a quarter of a mile from the finish and these people started closing gates and moving trucks up in front of the gates to block the path. I was so frustrated, I started pulling the gates open, not caring if I damaged a truck, climbing over the trucks, but they kept adding more… then once I got over all of that, they had moved the finish line and we couldn’t find it. I was so angry by the time we had finished the race because it was the worse time I had ever had during a 5k. I was on goal to not only meet my goal, but to set a PR and meet my goal by a minute or so!

Screen Shot 2013-07-01 at 10.41.51 AMSo, I woke up in a panic, and even though I felt a bit sleepy, I decided to get up, lace up my shoes, and go for a run! And boy am I glad I did!!! I decided before I took off that I would see if I could make it to a mile without stopping to walk. I knew that I would encounter hills, but I was determined to make it! And I did!!! It wasn’t my fastest mile to date, BUT it was my fastest mile this year! And the first time I ran the entire mile in over a year!!! I really want to beast this race on Thursday, and I am super excited that my great friend, Maggie, will be pacing me!!!

Don’t let a dream get you in a panic; instead, lace up your shoes and prove to the dream that you can do it! Have you ever had a pre-race anxiety dream? What did you do to overcome the pre-race jitters?

Run to win!

Leave a Reply

