When your favorite running skirt is thrown away…

Saturday I ran the Dash for Dad 5k in Sandy Springs, GA (Just outside of Atlanta). I felt really good about my time (42’56”). During my training I was in Viet Nam so I was unable to train on hills, and mile 2 was pretty much all uphill! Anyway, the run was to raise money for prostate cancer, not to PR. So, after the race we went back to the hotel and I decided to sit in an ice bath. I always stay in my running gear (apart from the compression sleeves and socks. Once I got out of the ice bath I put the skirt and shirt in a bag and tied it up so it didn’t get the rest of my clothes wet on the drive home. However, when I got home, that bag was left in the kitchen and we think it has been thrown away. To be honest, I’m not all that worried about the running skirt, I can order a new one when I get the money, but the shirt won’t be as easy to replace since it was custom made. I will try to get another one made, but the sentimental value of the shirt won’t accompany the new one.

Oh well, I know there is nothing I can do about it, but I kind of wanted to cry this afternoon when I realized it had probably been thrown away. Moral of the story, don’t leave running gear tied in a bag in the kitchen. 😦

Run to win!

Leave a Reply

