Flat to hills…

How? When there aren’t any…

Kyla and I have been good about getting up at 6:30 to go running. I think we have now decided to get up on the “off” days to go biking. Even though I don’t want to get up at 6:30, it has been worth it. Being in a tropical climate you can’t wait until a little bit later in the morning or it’s too hot. So, 6:30 it is! I am still in training for the Dash for Dad 5k, Atlanta. Since I took a few months off of running, I am feeling good about where I am. I feel stronger now than before my running break.

Something I have learned while running in Viet Nam, if I can run here, I can run during the summer in SC.

I may have to discipline myself to keep getting up early, but it is definitely worth it. I can’t wait to get back to running longer distances, but for now I am working myself up there. I don’t want to burn out or get to the point where my shins are hurting. *Side note… ever since I purchased my CEP compression calf sleeves are amazing! I need to get a few more pairs, in different colors. *hint, hint* 😉

I hope you are all getting in some great runs! It isn’t too late to register for the Dash for Dad, Atlanta. If you would like to join me, I would love to have people running it with me. This run benefits prostate cancer research. My dad was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer in January 2012, so I have decided to do a prostate cancer run every year.

Just a quick question for you runners, it is flat here in Ho Chi Minh City… is there a way to prepare myself for hills? The race is 3 days after I get back to the US, so I will only have 1 run in the US before the race. There is a 154.2 climb, which wouldn’t seem bad to me normally, but since I am running on flat ground here, it is going to seem like a mountain. Any pointers would be great! (Map of the run).

Run to win!

Leave a Reply

