Getting out of the rut!

Screen Shot 2013-05-06 at 9.30.45 PMThis evening I went for my first run in almost two months. I was a bit nervous since I wasn’t sure how my legs and heart would take it. But I was shocked! They both felt great! My entire body felt like it was saying: “Thank you, I have missed this!” It wasn’t my fastest run, by far, but I got out there and did it! I have set a goal on Nike+ to run at least 3 times per week. I am also going to try and go out for a bike ride at least once per week. We ride bikes here in Vietnam to go to places, but I want to go out riding for the intent of getting some exercise! Maybe I’ll do a sprint triathlon sometime this year. (MAYBE!) My next race will be the Dash for Dad in Atlanta. It’s only a 5k, but I have goals to accomplish this year with 5ks!

I know there are times when we runners get in a rut, I can’t believe mine lasted for almost 2 months, but there is one thing about it… we will always get out of the rut and get back to the pavement. My mind and body needs it. Even when I go running with a friend, like tonight, I feel that my mind is able to clear itself. I know I am not the fastest runner, but I am a runner because I get out there and run! So, for those of you that are in a run… don’t worry, it won’t last forever! And the easiest way to get out is to get out there and hit the pavement!

Run to win!

One thought on “Getting out of the rut!

Leave a Reply

