Motivation?

I have a confession… I am in a running rut! I didn’t run the entire month of April! I need to get motivated to get my running shoes back on and to start pounding the pavement again. I will honestly say, I do miss running. So, why have I not started back? Probably because I know that I will pretty much be back at square one in training. I am not the most athletic person, most people would never believe that I finished a half marathon back in January. But I did! I know that I just need to lace up my shoes and put one foot in front of the other. I just can’t seem to do it.

To the runners who are reading this, have you even been in a rut this deep? If so, how did you overcome it? I have a 5k to do in June, so you would think that would be my motivation, but it hasn’t helped yet. I need a good jump start!

Trying to…

Run to win!

5 thoughts on “Motivation?

  1. OMG, I find myself in running ruts All. The. Time! The only way to get over it is to get out there and do it? Do you have a running partner? Local running store with a regular weekly run? These are EZ ways to get back in it. It doesn’t hurt that the weather is finally getting nicer (at least in NYC anyway). Hope this helps!

    • I am currently in Vietnam, so the weather is definitely running weather… well, as long as you go early enough in the morning. Otherwise, it’s too hot and humid! But you’re right, I need to just get out there and do it! Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Sign up for another race, a 5 or a 10k! I signed up for a 10km race a month after my first half marathon, the goal helped me get inspired to get my butt off the couch even though I sure didn’t feel like doing anything at all.

    • hahaha just re-read – you have a 5k already! Good on ya! What is your pace goal? Plan your training up to the race and add a goal to reach a certain pace for it…might help!

      • My goal is to do it in under 40 minutes, so at least a 12:54 pace. My fastest 5k to date is 42’14″. I know that isn’t fast, but I still have around 80 pounds that I need to lose to be safer while I am running. My chiropractor doesn’t really like me to run, but I told her I have to keep running, and it will help me to lose the weight.

Leave a Reply

