Ice is my friend!

Never would I have imagined that I would be happy to put ice on my legs. I needed to run 5k’s before playing Ultimate tonight, so I decided to do the course of my very first 5k. Back in March when I did the race I finished in 47’20”… not to mention I didn’t have to wait on traffic lights or cars, and they had water stations for the runners. Today, I started off nice. My first mile was just at 13 minutes, not too bad, but I was hoping for a little better than that. However, the last 2.1 miles, not so great. I averaged about 15 minutes each mile and finished with a time of 45’07”.

Instead of being frustrated that I didn’t finish under my overall 5k PR, I congratulated myself for doing better than the last time I did that course. I also could have no ran at all. Each and every time I go out to run, I continue to amaze myself at my progress. I know I have a ways to go before I would be completely happy about my running, but for right now I am just happy that I am a runner, and that I love to run! AND my first 10k race is this Saturday!

It’s time to take the ice packs off now. What are you waiting for? Get out there and run!

Leave a Reply

