Back at it!

And so it begins…

Well, after taking a sabbatical during the summer I am proud to say that I am back at it and I feel good! I ran in the Labor Day Funk Run today in Seneca, SC and I set a PR, despite the fact that I did not train, and the course was hilly! My official time was 42’14”!!! My last 5k was 45’22”. It is awesome to know that my body is able to keep pushing forward even after the down time from running.

I did it!

 

I also registered for my next run today! Back in January my dad was diagnosed with prostate cancer and I decided then that I would run in a Prostate Cancer Race. I found the FAST PACE Race which is held in Cumming, GA. I will be doing the 10k instead of just the 5k. I will begin training for that now and will hope for the best. Of course, this will be an easy PR since I have never done a 10k before. šŸ™‚

I will also begin training for my first half-marathon that I will do in January! I had told my friend, Maggie, that I would do it if there were 204 runners today. We had 104 runners, but I decided that I would go ahead and do the half in January. I know it won’t be easy, but it will definitely be worth it.

Hopefully those reading this will be inspired in some way. I know that it isn’t easy to make yourself get out there and run, walk, jog, exercise, etc. However, it is worth it!!! Since the start of my journey of running and exercising this year I have lost 40 pounds! I can’t wait to see where I am next year!

One thought on “Back at it!

  1. Good for you! I took the summer off from running as well and my first 5k will be 9/22. I’ve got a few weeks to train for it so I’m hoping I can run the complete distance without walking…but if I do have to walk some that will be ok too. Good luck with the 10k and Half!!

Leave a Reply

