Run to Win!

 

Ask any of my friends and they will tell you that I am a competitive person. Because of this it would probably make some people wonder why I sign up to do runs. Needless-to-say I’m not planning on winning a race, so some would see that as killing my competitive nature; however, I see the races as a race against myself.

At the beginning of the year I had never ran or even walked any kind of race. March 17, 2012 was the first time I had ever completed a 5k… no, I didn’t win, but I beat my previous time of never completing one. My goal isn’t to be the best runner there is, but only to continue to push myself to be a better runner than I was the previous day. I do realize that there will be days that I don’t do as good as I did the previous day; however, I don’t allow that to mess with the next run.

In my previous post I talk about how I had a really bad run because I was cramping really bad. Well, I didn’t let that hurt my next run. Yesterday after only getting 5 hours of sleep after my night on third I woke up before my alarm and told myself to go for a run. It was still damp outside, but the rain had subsided. So, I laced up my shoes and took off. Little did I know that I would set a new PR!!! I managed to get 1 mile in before I started hurting too bad, but that 1-mile was completed at an 11’19” mile pace!

After the run I was thinking about 1 Corinthians 9:24-27…

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

Running is a great metaphor to use. You can’t go from not running at all to running a marathon, you have to train, and in the same way we have to train by reading the Bible and spending time with God. I don’t want to run aimlessly, I want to run with a purpose and on purpose.

Leave a Reply

