Run For Your Life!

Many times over the 27 years of my life I have looked at people running on the side of the road and I would think to myself, “I wish I could do that!” You wonder what stopped me from starting? It was the little voice in my head telling me that I wasn’t in the right physical shape to run. However, that all changed when a great friend of mine asked me to run a 5k in Seneca for St Patrick’s Day. I told her I had never been one to run, and she hooked me up with a training schedule to prepare myself.  (I had about a month to train).

The first day I left my house, iPhone in hand with an app to tell me what to do and when to do it, all I had to do was to walk/jog. At that point I was only jogging for a minute, then walking five. And I must admit, a minute felt like a LONG time. Even though I felt like giving up, I kept going because I figured I didn’t have anything to lose, but weight. Over the next month I kept training and got to where I could jog for 3 minutes and then rest only 1-2 minutes. I didn’t really know what to expect the morning of the race, but I got there, pinned my number to me, psyched myself up, and started! Since I only had a month to train I wasn’t able to jog the entire race, but I did finish!!!

I didn’t know if I would ever want to sign up for another 5k, but once I finished my first one I then started setting higher goals for the next one. My first 5k I finished in 47’20”. Which averages out to 15’22” per mile. I really wanted to finish it less than 45 minutes, but I am happy that I finished.  You would think that would have made me give up on running altogether; however, it is actually what is propelling me forward.

My life is being changed because of running.  I am learning the power of setting goals for myself and working toward completing those goals. My next 5k is May 5, 2012, the 34th Annual Hartwell Dam Run. I am setting a goal of actually running the entire thing, which means I want to finish it in less than 37 minutes. I want to take 10 minutes off of my first run. I feel like it is a goal I can accomplish as long as I really work for it. I have learned that it is better to set a goal that is reachable as long as I work hard for it. I could have set the goal to just be less than 40 minutes, but I wouldn’t have to work as hard for that as I will for being less than 37 minutes.

I hope that anyone who finds themselves reading this will be inspired to push forward and realize that you can do many things that you think you can’t. If you would have told me 3 months ago that I would be training to run a 5k in May… I probably would have laughed at you. I feel so much better on the days I run because it makes me realize that I can do anything I set my mind to!

Current PR’s: 1 Mile: 11’59” – 1.5 Miles: 12’09”

Leave a Reply

